Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City de-escalated to MECQ

Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City de-escalated to MECQ

By Angel F. Jose

PRESIDENT  Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to de-escalate the classification of Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City from Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) to Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) beginning August 16 until August 31, 2021.

The National Capital Region (NCR) remains under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) until August 20, 2021. Bataan, on the other hand, is under ECQ until August 22, 2021. Also placed under MECQ from August 16 to August 31, 2021 are Apayao; Ilocos Norte; Bulacan; Cavite, Lucena City, and Rizal in Region 4-A for Luzon; and Aklan, and Iloilo Province in Region 6, and Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, and Cebu City in Region 7 for the Visayas. Meanwhile, placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions from August 16 to August 31, 2021 are Ilocos Sur; Cagayan; Quezon and Batangas in Region 4-A and Naga City for Luzon; Antique, Bacolod City and Capiz in Region 6; and Negros Oriental and Cebu for the Visayas; Zamboanga del Sur; Misamis Oriental; Davao City, Davao del Norte, Davao Occidental and Davao de Oro in Region 11 and Butuan City for Mindanao.

On the other hand, Tarlac shall be placed under GCQ beginning August 13 until August 31, 2021. Also placed under GCQ from August 16 to August 31, 2021 are Baguio City in the Cordillera Administrative Region; Santiago City, Quirino, Isabela and Nueva Vizcaya in Region 2; and Puerto Princesa for Luzon; Guimaras and Negros Occidental in Region 6; Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga City and Zamboanga del Norte in Region 9.

Davao Oriental and Davao del Sur in Region 11; General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, North Cotabato and South Cotabato in Region 12; Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur and Dinagat Islands in CARAGA and Cotabato City in the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao. All other areas shall be placed under Modified General Community Quarantine (MGCQ) classification from August 16 to 31, 2021.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Welcome to Metro Sun, an online news website where stories inspire community engagement and digitally fuelled actions for economic change in the Philippines or any associated countries based on current events.


Some links on this page are affiliate links in which we earn a commission from sales of items we recommend at no extra cost to you. And as an Amazon Associate, we also earn from qualifying purchases linking to any of their websites. Please read our Disclaimer linked below.

Scroll to Top